Association of Southeastern Biologists Conference 2016

embassysuiteshotel.jpgI had the pleasure of attending the Association of Southeastern Biologists conference this past weekend in Concord, North Carolina. The conference took place in the Embassy Suites by Hilton Charlotte convention center, which was a grand hotel with free snacks and glass elevators.

On Friday, I sat in on scientific presentations about communities and invertebrates – I learned about how plant communities may change after species invasions and how entomology can be used to solve forensic cases. That morning, I also presented my poster on the Vascular Flora of the University of the South, Sewanee TN and met some great people with interesting connections to Sewanee.

 

Callie Oldfield Flora Poster

Among these people were Dane Kuppinger, Assistant Professor of Biology at Salem College, and lichenologist Jessica Allen. Dr. Kuppinger filled Dr. Evans position when he was on sabbatical a few years ago, whereas Jessica is the family member of a current Sewanee student.

ASB_showroom

In the afternoon, I attended Dr. Chris Peterson’s talk about forest disturbance severity as it relates to structural complexity, and I finished up the evening with Dr. Dwayne Estes’s hypothesis on the relationship between biogeography and disjoint species distributions.

Saturday morning, I browsed the myriad of posters – and enjoyed Alissa Brown’s fabric poster about temperate tree spatial dynamics. That afternoon, I presented another poster about the landscape drivers of deer herbivory on sapling density. This was a great opportunity to get advice on how we can improve our study in the future, and I spoke with some undergraduates about it at length.

Deer_ASBPoster.png

I was grateful to attend this conference as a University of the South, Sewanee representative, and I look forward to sharing my research in the future.

To read more about my research, visit my personal website.

About Callie Oldfield

I was a Post-Baccalaureate Fellow for the Sewanee Herbarium from Winter 2015-Summer 2016. I am currently a PhD student studying Plant Biology at the University of Georgia.

Leave a Reply

